Post-Op Comfort and Style

Last week I had the great opportunity to have my gallbladder removed! Granted, I feel much better now that it’s out, healing from surgery is not something I excel at. I am not a big fan of pharmaceuticals to begin with and ended up having an allergic reaction to the pain meds.  I’ve been relying on ibuprofen to get me through the post-op pain. Through it all I’ve been trying to maintain some level of maintenance and I’ve come up with post-op guide to comfort and style to get you out of the hospital and back to your couch with your dignity intact.

Hair: a topknot and a scarf. That’s all you need.

Clothes: a maxidress – none of those pesky waistbands to irritate your stitches and make you realize just how swollen your belly is! This week I favored an old maternity maxidress from Target and one that I purchased last summer at Old Navy. I also prefer the maxidress to pajamas for times when you must answer the door, or your friend brings over a casserole and you feel compelled to say hi, or your kids friends come barreling through the house.

Dress from Old Navy

Blanket: make it big and make it soft

Drink: I’ll admit, I have what I call my “sick cup.” I only use it when I’m really sick and it just makes me feel better. It’s a huge insulated mug with a lid and a straw. It’s obscene how much liquid this cup holds but I love it! When I’m sick, having this cup near me just makes me feel better. Plus, I don’t have to continuously whine to my husband that I need water.

Movie: Pride & Prejudice – it’s 5 hours long so you won’t need to mess remotes or changing the DVD. Also, you should have seen this movie at least  6 times by now so if you are in and out of consciousness it won’t really matter.

What makes you feel better when you’re sick?

 

Leave a comment